Stewards of Makena

Consider a contribution to Doctor Leisure if you want to help defray the costs.

In a very real sense we are all Stewards of Makena. We all bare a responsibility toward taking care of our mother earth. The structure of our society puts greater power toward this end in the hands of certain individuals. Listed below is a list of very relevant contacts. The list is not inclusive and it is continually being evolved. Every effort is made to keep the information current. Use as you deem appropriate. Aloha Dr. L

Government Officials

Honorable Governor Linda Lingle, Executive Chambers, State Capitol, Honolulu, Hawai'i
Phone: 808-586-0034 Fax: 808-586-0006

Laura H. Thielen, Chairperson
Department of Land and Natural Resources
P. O. Box 621
Honolulu, Hawai`i 96809

Taryn R. Schuman, O`ahu Member (Term: 7/01/05 - 6/30/09)
Taryn R. Schuman, CPA, Inc.
P.O. Box 4409
Honolulu, HI 96812

Robert Pacheco Hawai`i Member Interim Appointment
74-5035 B. Queen Kaahumanu Highway
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii 96740

Ron Agor Kaua`i Member (Term: 7/01/04 - 6/30/08)
4374 Kukui Grove St. Suite #204
Lihue, HI 96766

Jerry Edlao, Maui Member (Term: 5/02/06 - 6/30/09)
1797 Wili Pa Loop Suite #3
Wailuku, HI 96793

Timothy Johns
Timothy Johns Member-At-Large (Term: 7/01/06 - 6/30/10)
Estate of Samuel Mills Damon
First Hawaiian Center
999 Bishop St., Suite 2800
Honolulu, Hawai`i 96813

Dr. Samuel M. Gon III
Dr. Samuel M. Gon III   Member-At-Large (Term: 5/02/06 - 6/30/09)
The Nature Conservancy of Hawaii
923 Nuuanu Ave.,
Honolulu, HI 96817

Phil Ohta, Makena State Park Superintendent, DLNR, Div. Of State Parks Rm 101, 54 S. High
St., Wailuku, HI 96793 phone 808-984-8102

Randy Awo, Maui branch chief of state Division of Conservation and Resource Enforcement.
DLNR, 54 S. High St., Wailuku, HI 96793 phone 808-873-3990

Hawaii State Legislature


4th Senatorial District –  Wailuku, Waihe‘e, Kahului, Pa‘ia, Lower Pa‘ia

Senator Shan S. Tsutsui
Phone 808-586-7344; Fax 808-586-7348
From Maui, toll free 984-2400 + 67344
E-mail:  sentsutsui@Capitol.hawaii.gov

Office: State Capitol, Room 206, 415 S. Beretania St., Honolulu 96813
Phone: 586-7344 Fax: 586-7348
E-mail: sentsutsui@capitol.hawaii.gov

5th Senatorial District –  South and West Maui, Kapalua, Ka‘anapali, Lahaina, Ma‘alaea, Kihei, Wailea, Makena

Rosalyn H. Baker
Phone 808-586-6070; Fax 808-586-6071
From Maui, toll free 984-2400 + 66070
E-mail:  senbaker@Capitol.hawaii.gov

District: 5th (West Maui-South Maui)
Office: State Capitol, Room 210, 415 S. Beretania St., Honolulu 96813
Phone: 586-6070  Fax: 586-6071
E-mail: senbaker@capitol.hawaii.gov



8th Representative District –  Wailuku, Waihe‘e, Waiehu, Puuohala, Waikapu

Joseph “Joe” Souki
Phone 808-586-9444; Fax 808-586-9499
From Maui, toll free 984-2400 + 69444
E-mail:  repsouki@Capitol.hawaii.gov

DISTRICT: 8th (Kahakuloa-Wailuku-Waikapu)
OFFICE: State Capitol, Room 433, 415 S. Beretania St., Honolulu 96813
PHONE: (808) 586-9444, (from Maui) 984-2400 69444# FAX: (808) 586-9499
E-MAIL: repsouki@Capitol.hawaii.gov

9th Representative District –  Kahului, Wailuku, Puunene, Spreckelsville, Pa‘ia

Gilbert S.C. Keith-Agaran
Phone 808-586-6210; Fax 808-586-6211
From Maui, toll free 984-2400 + 66210
E-mail:  repkeithagaran@capitol.hawaii.gov


10th Representative District –  Lahaina, Ka‘anapali, Kapalua, Ma‘alaea, Kihei

Angus L.K. McKelvey
Phone 808-586-6160; Fax 808-586-6161
From Maui, toll free 984-2400 + 66160
E-mail:  repmckelvey@Capitol.hawaii.gov

DISTRICT: 10th (West Maui-North Kihei)
OFFICE: State Capitol, Room 315, 415 S. Beretania St., Honolulu 96813
PHONE: (808) 586-6160, (from Maui) 984-2400 66160# FAX: (808) 586-6161
E-MAIL: repmckelvey@Capitol.hawaii.gov


12th Representative District –  Pukalani, Makawao, Olinda, Pulehu, Kula, Ulupalakua
Kyle T. Yamashita
Phone 808-586-6330; Fax 808-586-6331
From Maui, toll free 984-2400 + 66330
E-mail:  repyamashita@Capitol.hawaii.gov

DISTRICT: 12th (Upcountry)
OFFICE: State Capitol, Room 402, 415 S. Beretania St., Honolulu 96813
PHONE: (808) 586-6330, (from Maui) 984-2400 66330# FAX: (808) 586-6331
E-MAIL: repyamashita@Capitol.hawaii.gov


13th Representative District –  Kaho‘olawe, Molokini, Lana‘i, Moloka‘i, Keanae, Wailua, Nahiku, Hana

Mele Carroll
Phone 808-586-6790; Fax 808-586-6779
From Maui, toll free 984-2400 + 66790
From Molokai and Lanai, toll free 1-800-468-4644 + 66790
E-mail:  repcarroll@Capitol.hawaii.gov

DISTRICT: 13th (East Maui-Lanai-Molokai-Kalaupapa-Kahoolawe)
OFFICE: State Capitol, Room 405, 415 S. Beretania St., Honolulu 96813
PHONE: (808) 586-6790, (from Maui) 984-2400 66790#, FAX: (808) 586-6779
E-MAIL: repcarroll@Capitol.hawaii.gov

County of Maui (This changed November of 2010 and I have not had the time to make the necessary changes.)

Mayor Charmaine Tavares , COUNTY OF MAUI, 200 South High Street, Wailuku, Maui,
Hawai`i 96793
Phone: (808)270-7855, Fax: (808)270-8073

Maui County Council Members 2009

Office  Physical Address  Mailing Address  City  Phone  Fax
Hana  5101 Uakea Rd.Building A, Room 1  P. O. Box 877  Hana, Hawaii 96713  (808) 248-7513  (808) 248-7883
Lana'i  Eighth St.  P. O. Box 630647  Lanai City, Hawaii 96763  (808) 565-7094  (808) 565-6436
Moloka'i  100 Ainoa St.  P. O. Box 889  Kaunakakai, Hawaii 96748  (808) 553-3888  (808) 553-3055
Wailuku  200 S. High St  200 S. High St  Wailuku, Hawaii 96793  (808) 270-7838  (808) 270-7686

# Danny A. Mateo, Council Chair
# Michael J. Molina, Council Vice-Chair
# Gladys Coelho Baisa, Council Member
# Jo Anne Johnson, Council Member
# Sol P. Kaho'ohalahala, Council Member
#  Bill Kauakea Medeiros, Council Member
# Wayne K. Nishiki, Council Member
# Joseph Pontanilla, Council Member
# Michael P. Victorino, Council Member

Media Contacts

The Maui News, 100 Mahalani St., Wailuku, HI 96793-2529,
editor@mauinews.com, http://www.mauinews.com

The Honolulu Advertiser, 605 Kapi’olani Blvd.,Honolulu, HI  96813,
Maui news number 244-4880 HONOLULUADVERTISER.COM

Star Bulletin, 7 Waterfront Plaza, Suite 210, 500Ala Moana, Honolulu, HI 96813
news tips 529-4747, Maui bureau 808-244-3207, STARBULLETIN.COM Editor Frank Bridgewater 529-4791/

Haleakala Times, PO Box 791051, Paia, HI 96779
general manager Adrienne Poremba
editor Bree Ullman

Maui Weekly, Island Surf Building, 1993 South Kihei Road, Suite 215, Kihei, Maui, Hawaii 96753
cultural and governmental editor Joseph W. Bean   josephbean@Hawaiiantel.net
editor Debra Lordan editor@mauiweekly.com

Maui Time Weekly, 33 N. Market St. Ste 201, Wailuku, HI 96793


Friends of Makena State Park

Friends of Makena State Park was formally formed in 2003 to assist the Hawai'i Department of Land and Natural Resources in the stewardship of  Makena State Park.

Membership is open to anyone interested in the stewardship of  the unique natural resource that constitutes Makena State Park situated on the island of Maui in the Hawai 'i Islands. The world famous nude beach known as Little Beach is contiguous to Makena State Park.

To declare your membership and to receive the electronic newsletter of Dr. Leisure's Friends of Makena State Park click this link: LittleBeachMaui-subscribe@topica.com  and send a blank email.

Dr. Leisure's Friends of Makena State Park
PO Box 1137
Kihei, HI 96753

--Dr. George R. Harker can be reached by email at drleisure1@aol.com.

Article may be reproduced with appropriate credit: drleisure.com

Copyright 2009, Dr. Leisure

©Copyright 2009 Dr. Leisure. All rights reserved.

Dr Leisure